THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUNSMITHING FORUM

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Quality of online based gunsmithing courses?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Interested in starting an online based gunsmithing course, primarily for my own edification and to stave off some boredom. Has anyone done coursework through Penn Foster? Seems their course runs about $800 and covers a pretty broad base of gunsmithing topics (which is what I'm looking for). I in no way anticipate this to make me a master, or even rudimentary, independent smith. Just some fun learning. Anyone with suggestions or comments?

Posts: 1449 | Location: New England | Registered: 22 February 2010Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Toomany Tools
posted Hide Post
I have no experience with online courses but you might be better off investing in a library of books on Gunsmithing, classics by Howe and Dunlap etc. and studying those rather than an online course, then obtain some old firearms to practice on.

John Farner

If you haven't, please join the NRA!

Posts: 2944 | Location: Corrales, NM, USA | Registered: 07 February 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
2 kinds of smithing and IMO the on-line & mail-order courses are fine for one of them.

General smithing, repair, refinishing, etc. then IMO the on-lines are fine.

Customs and special fabrication smithing OTOH IMO require hands-on up-close-&-personal question-&-answer sessions with more or less instant feedback & guidance throughout the particular process being taught at the moment.

IMO there's no such thing as too many books, especially gun books. The smithing books are good for both general and custom work, and the custom/deluxe gun books are an inspiration in the custom fabbing arena.

There are summer smithing seminars being offered by some smithing schools, 1 or 2 weeks at a time. I strongly recommend them.
Regards, Joe

Posts: 2756 | Location: deep South | Registered: 09 December 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us