New
Find
Notify
Tools

Argie Release Button
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Ok, I am a novice working with the 1909 Argies!
That said, what is the best way to add a "button" to the release inside the trigger bow? There is a slot cut in the release, but it does not look like a button was there. My inclination is to have a weld build up and file the shape I want. Your help is appreciated

Jim

Posts: 1206 | Location: Memphis, TN | Registered: 25 January 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of gunmaker
posted Hide Post
I've hack sawed them out of surface ground stock that fits the slot in the bow. First drill the hole and put a pin through original part and the new stock and trace the shape with a scribe in dykem. Then spend the time filing out the right shape.

Now I just run the program I've got of the custom part on my mill and spend very little time fitting the last few thousandths. Then checker the button. I've got a few to cut in the next few weeks and if you want one that's almost done, it would run $20 + shipping. The FN manufactured ones are a little different than the German ones.

If you're looking to learn some filing skills then by all means start with a flat chunk and the hole. I wouldn't recommend welding and then filing the shape. Not that it won't work, it's just a crap shoot with hard spots and pits if you are having a buddy weld it. You're time messing with it has to be worth something.

gunmaker
------------------
James Anderson Metalsmith & Stockmaker
WEB SITE

More Pics on FLICKR

Posts: 1860 | Location: Western South Dakota | Registered: 05 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
James, I don't fully understand your process. Are you making a button to attach to the release lever or are you making a new lever with a release button?