New
Find
Notify
Tools

loose action screws on a CZ 527
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I tightened them firm and snug, some weeks later went to the range and they had come loose. Re-tightened them, zeroed the rifle, took it on a trip and the screws had come loose again by the time I got where I was going. Can I put a smallish dab of "temporary" loc-tite on them without causing myself later grief?

Thanks.

Posts: 3314 | Location: NYC | Registered: 18 April 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I'm not a prof smith, but i'd certainly like to know why. Is the thread pitch too slow? Is the wood shrinking? Overtightened and stretching? Overtightened and compressing the wood? Others here will know better.

Posts: 2827 | Location: Seattle, in the other Washington | Registered: 26 April 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by tin can:
I tightened them firm and snug, some weeks later went to the range and they had come loose. Re-tightened them, zeroed the rifle, took it on a trip and the screws had come loose again by the time I got where I was going. Can I put a smallish dab of "temporary" loc-tite on them without causing myself later grief?

Thanks.

Unless the screws are stretching which I would tend to doubt, you might be compressing wood. Pillar bedding would be the cure for that.

Posts: 1374 | Registered: 06 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Malm's probably right, (again) Big Grin I'm not sure if the 527 comes with pillars, but my 550 FS did. Even though they are loose and not bedded. Anybody else have a 527 that can tell us whether they come with pillars?

Tin Can , Did you buy this rifle new?

Posts: 220 | Location: SW Missouri USA | Registered: 13 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post