Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Remington 870 Wingmaster question
 Login/Join

posted
I have a Remington 870 Wingmaster, 12 ga 2-3/4" only (not Magnum). It has a 30" full choke barrel with vent rib.
I would like to know is it possible to have a gun smith modify the barrel to except win chokes (screw in type chokes) and be able to use it for steel shot without damage to the barrel when using a modified choke?

Thanks Dave

Posts: 9 | Location: Alabama | Registered: 11 July 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Dave-

I'm not sure if Winchokes will work, but there are special "Thin Wall" chokes just for this purpose.

The older shotguns had barrels that weren't as "thick" at the muzzle, as compared to today's, which are made with choke tubes in mind. The thin wall tubes will allow older shotguns to be threaded & fit with tubes. "Standard" Rem-chokes or Winchokes or whatever require too much material to be taken out of the muzzle, leaving just a paper-thin sleeve around the tube.

A number of 'smiths offer the service, maybe somebody can give you the name of one that does it for a reasonable price.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Oh, and first post? Welcome to Accurate Reloading!! [Smile]

posted Hide Post
Thanks for the good info Cold Bore.
I don't want to chance it if it is not doable. The Remington folks told me that for a new mag barrel that the frame would not take a mag loads, so I purchased another 28" barrel made for a 2-3/4" shell, (which was hard to find), for quail hunting. I like the 870 but really was not in the market for one but I could not pass up. A fellow at work asked me what it was worth and I gave him the range of what he should ask for it. Then he asked me to make him an offer. I told him that I really didn't want it, but he insisted that I make him an offer again and so it went.

Thanks again Dave

one of us
posted Hide Post