Find
Notify
Tools

Stock Repair - 9.3x62mm
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Hobie
posted
The rifle on auction at9.3x62mm Rifle has a stock crack.

My question is:

Would a repaired stock be functional with this cartridge?
If not, then a new stock would be required, are there any recommended sources?
Are mounts available for this action?
Low safety?

How good are these actions?

Posts: 2324 | Location: Staunton, VA | Registered: 05 September 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Hobie,

Let me start by saying that my stock repair experience is limited. However, I have been a hobby woodworker for ~10 years now, and have done a fair amount of repairing old furniture, including things that get a lot of weight bearing stress (like chairs).

I would guess that stock split may be related to tight bedding around the rear tang, which acted like a wedge under recoil. It could certainly be repaired, with epoxy and a pin, and end up as strong or stronger than it was. Would you mind if a brass pin showed? If so, it could still be repaired -- it gets a little more complicated when you want it hidden. I have made "hidden" repairs with small screws, pins, etc. by using a gouge to lift out a plug of wood, insert the pin, then glue the lifted out plug back in place. You can often see that something was done in that spot, but it's less obvious that the end of a brass pin. You can also countersink the pin, and just plug with a closely matching piece of wood, but it's hard to match grain and color exactly.

Before bidding, I would ask specifically if there is any other wood splitting or damage -- ask them to pull the action from the stock. If it backed up enough to split the grip area, there may also be a split in the area in front of the trigger, or behind the recoil lug.

Hope that helps.

Todd

P.s. that gun has been floating around auctions sites a while -- if it doesn't sell, contact them and see if they'll take a reasonable offer.