THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUNSMITHING FORUM

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

number of grooves in a barrel - significance??
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
i was looking on the Pac-Nor site at a barrel for a 6.5x55 project. i notice that they have several different barrels with different numbers of riflings from 3 to 6, as well as a "polygonal" (?) twist, whatever that is.... they have a 3 groove as well as a 5 groove, both with a twist of 8 and 9.

what should guide my decision as far as the number of grooves is concerned? in other words, what is the difference between a 3 groove with an 8 inch twist and a 5 groove with an 8 inch twist?

Posts: 466 | Location: Oklahoma | Registered: 20 December 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Being an ex employee of PAC-NOR, I have some experience here. The land to groove ratio is usually about 1 to 1.5, meaning the groove is a little wider than the land. Some people think it is better to have an odd number of lands and grooves so the bullet experiences less stresses when swaged into the lead. How important that is is debatable. I have had rifles shoot very well with 3 to 8 L&Gs. The poly barrels are a little hard to explain, but in a nutshell, the lands do not have steep sides going into the groove. The lands are a sort of wide trapazoid. When looking at a bore with a 90 degree borescope, it is all facets rather than distinct L&G. There is a better explanation on the Shrotmag.org site in the news section. You might need to go back a page or two. For you deciding what way to go, thnk about having less lead edges on the rifling with fewer lands. People say their 3 L&Gs clean very easy. I use them all, so I cannot say one is better than the other. I know cast bullet shooters seem to like fewer L&Gs. They are all good, and you had it right goiung to PAC-NOR. They are great and so are the barrels.

[ 12-02-2003, 07:36: Message edited by: jnrifleworks ]