New
Find
Notify
Tools

Stevens Favorite - takedown won't take down
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Heh. This one came with a second one in better shape. Looks like the barrel is frozen into the receiver, and so far penetrating oil hasn't loosened it up.
The barrel itself isn't much, corroded inside to the point where it would need relined to salvage it. I am a rank amateur at this sort of thing...

TomP

Our country, right or wrong. When right, to be kept right, when wrong to be put right.

Carl Schurz (1829 - 1906)

Posts: 14631 | Location: Moreno Valley CA USA | Registered: 20 November 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Might try soaking in a bucket diesel fuel for a few days. Used to do the same with frozen oilfield valves and always worked.

Posts: 1177 | Location: Wyoming | Registered: 04 April 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
However, this is the 21st century and they have invented PB Blaster, and it works at loosening frozen joints somewhat better.

Posts: 17294 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
With an octagon barrel like the favorites usually have, this is an easy problem to solve.

Take off the forend, place the barrel in a vise with a block of wood on each side to protect the barrel from the vise jaws.

Put a Large (18" or so, or bigger) crescent wrench on the receiver at the ring area, protected on each side by a shim of thin wood or cereal box pressboard. Turn the action backwards and forwards to free it from the frozen/rusted barrel, and work it off. Add oil as you do it if it makes you feel better.

If you weren't a rank amateur, you could substitute a barrel vise and a flat action wrench for the wood blocks, vise and crescent.

Posts: 1116 | Location: Eastern Oregon | Registered: 02 December 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Please remember to remove the breech block and lever before trying to remove the barrel.