New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re-bluing an old gun?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Newbie here! I have an old gun that has some pits on the outside of the barrel and it has lost most its bluing. I bought some Rust and Blue remover at Wally World. Is there anything that I need to know before applying this stuff?

I also bought a bottle of gun blue. Are there tips to applying it?

Thanks

Posts: 142 | Location: Maryland | Registered: 09 June 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The best advice I can give is this. If you like the piece and want it to look good and keep it safe, pay for a professional reblue job. I am about as cheap as anyone can get and broke a lot of the time but that is what I have done many times in the past. I have also taken a gunsmithing course but being in Canada precludes me from practising here to any degree. derf

Posts: 3450 | Location: Aldergrove,BC,Canada | Registered: 22 February 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
throw the blue remover away - all it is is a nitric acid compound. Reblue requires buffing and polishing. But before you do all of this do 2 things. Make sure your old gun isn't a collectors item, because rebluing will ruin its value, and #2 make sure its worth it ($75 is a average) also cold blue isn't really much of a finish, usually it is just used to touch up a weak or worn small area. Using it requires several applications with cleansing with alcohol between them.

Posts: 13462 | Location: faribault mn | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
The gun is a 25 year $75 22LR. It has no real value now. I just though I would spruce it up a bit. It is in rough shape.
If is doesn't come well...no loss.

Posts: 142 | Location: Maryland | Registered: 09 June 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Comet,
Take a look at www.winrest.com. Good instructions and good products.

Brent