Notify
Tools

Need Throat Reamed (lengthened) In Houston
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of tarbe
posted
Gents

I have a Boddington Kudu (300 H&H) that has a short throat.

I cannot even seat bullets to SAAMI max of 3.6", let alone seat them out the way I like to in a No 1.

I want this rifle optimized for heavy bullets, and currently, the 220gr Partition hits the lands at 3.57" OAL.

I would like to be able to seat this bullet to 3.75 OAL, which will put the base of the bullet only 0.1" below the neck.

Any opinions on who should I take the rifle to for a .2" ream?

I have no experience with gunsmithing here, except for having 2" cut off a .375 about 12 years ago at Carter's Country on I-10. That turned out fine.

Thanks!

Tim

0351 USMC

Posts: 1535 | Location: Romance, Missouri | Registered: 04 March 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Does it need to be done in Houston?

Jim Kobe
10841 Oxborough Ave So
Bloomington MN 55437
Professional member American Custom Gunmakers Guild

Posts: 5521 | Location: Minnesota | Registered: 10 July 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of tarbe
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Jim Kobe:
Does it need to be done in Houston?

Hi Jim

I live in Houston and having it done here would certainly simplify things, not to mention reduce ancillary costs.

Tim

0351 USMC

Posts: 1535 | Location: Romance, Missouri | Registered: 04 March 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
Buy a throater (reamer) and do it yourself.

Posts: 17275 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of BNagel
posted Hide Post
Bobby Pitchford in Waller County, off Kickapoo Road (NW of Houston off 290). Pitchford Custom Gun Works. He used to be with Briley. http://www.pcgguns.com/

Posts: 4881 | Location: Bryan, Texas | Registered: 12 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
^^^^

I mostly have my work done out of town, but that is good to know too .