Find
Notify
Tools

Stockmaking- How Hard is it?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Seamus O'Grady
posted
I am looking into making my own stock even though I have pretty much no prior woodworking experience. Could someone tell me just how difficult it would be to make one starting from a hunk of wood? Thanks.

Posts: 567 | Location: Washington | Registered: 21 February 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
It's a lot of work and very time consuming. For a person with little or no prior woodworking skills it could be vey frustrating. I would suggest that you start out with a semi inletted/shaped stock and see how you like working with wood. I have done 15 or so of them over the years, and believe me, you will find plenty of woodworking (and finishing)to get you started in stock work.

Posts: 8169 | Location: humboldt | Registered: 10 April 2002Reply With Quote
<JBelk>
posted
Seamas--

As a stockmaking instructor I'll have to disagree with craigster, I think a semi-inlet is a very bad way to learn stockmaking.

The very best thing you can do is buy two books, first.
"Restocking a Rifle" by Alvin Linden and "Professional Stockmaking" by David Westbrook.

Both are great how to books with the Linden book having an advantage in that no power tools were used by him.

The theory of inletting and shaping is extremely important. Both books cover them well. I've used the Linden method for 40 years. It works.

$200 in tools and a good vice in addition to a lot of patience and some skill with sharpening and using hand tools will get you the best stock that can be made by the hands of man.

Good wood is 50 times easier to work with than the cheap stuff. Spend a hundred bucks on a piece of plain but sound California English and have the benefit of decent wood to work with. It makes a tremendous difference.

one of us
posted Hide Post