Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Length of Barral(Big Differance?)
 Login/Join

posted
I am rebarreling my 300 RUM and have a Lilja barrel coming for it and getting a 28in made. I have talk to some people that do alot of shooting and I can never seem to get a definite answer one way or the other. Some say that you do not need a long barrel but some say you do. For example I know a guy that shoots a 30-378 with just a 22in barrel and loves it, so my question is what length I should go with for that caliber (300RUM). I am starting to take my shooting to new levels like ranges 300 to 700 plus and want to know as much as possible because I am new to this kind of yardage. Thanks alot.

one of us
Picture of ROSCOE
posted Hide Post
I would go with the 28 in this rifle and use a twist that will shoot 200 grain pills. You could get by with a 26 but I think the extra two inches will get you another 50 FPS...at least that is my experience.

22" in a 30-378? I bet if he shot it in the night he would see how much unburnt powder is leaving the bore. Damn that thing must be loud ehh?

R. Lee Ermey: "The deadliest weapon in the world is a Marine and his rifle."
We're going to be "gifted" with a health care plan we are forced to purchase and fined if we don't, Which purportedly covers at least ten million more people, without adding a single new doctor, but provides for 16,000 new IRS agents, written by a committee whose chairman says he doesn't understand it, passed by a Congress that didn't read it but exempted themselves from it, and signed by a President, with funding administered by a treasury chief who didn't pay his taxes, for which we'll be taxed for four years before any benefits take effect, by a government which has already bankrupted Social Security and Medicare, all to be overseen by a surgeon general who is obese, and financed by a country that's broke!!!!! 'What the hell could possibly go wrong?'

Posts: 2122 | Location: Arkansas | Registered: 03 June 2000Reply With Quote