New
Find
Notify
Tools

Chamber cast
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I need to buy some cerrosafe to make a chamber cast. I've never done one before, and am looking for any hints or advice those experienced in the process might offer?
Thanks!

"and he that hath no sword, let him sell his cloak and buy one"

Posts: 199 | Location: Harnett County NC | Registered: 23 October 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I tried using cerrosafe for the first time last year. It is rather easy to use. I cut a coke can in half and bent part of the can to make a spout. I then placed the cerrosafe in the can and stuck it on the stove in a pot of water that was about an inch deep. I waited for the cerrosafe to melt. After I had plugged the barrel just ahead of the throat, I put on some leather gloves and picked up the soda can and gently poured the cerrosafe into the chamber. After a minute or two, I popped the cast out of the chamber with a cleaning rod.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Hope you find this useful:
The process of casting involves making a reproduction of the chamber/leade/bore by filling a portion of the bore and chamber with a casting material. There are a number of materials that can be used to make a cast. The most user-friendly is a material called Cerosafe. This is a metal alloy with a very low melting point at 158°F to 190°F (70°C to 88°C).

The manufacturer, Cero Metal Products, claims an expansion rate (after casting) in thousandths of an inch, per inch, as follows: 2 minutes…- .0004, 6 minutes…- .0007, 30 minutes…- .0009, 1 hour…0000, 2 hours…+ .0016, 5 hours…+ .0018, 7 hours…+ .0019, 10 hours…+ .0019, 24 hours…+ .0022, 96 hours…+ .0025, 200 hours…+ .0025, 500 hours…+ .0025. It must be noted however that the manufacturer is in the business of providing different alloys for different purposes. It may be worthwhile to acquire their literature and specs for study.