Find
Notify
Tools

Re: Mark X Mauser Actions
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of JBabcock
posted
The 1 Mark X I had knocked the safety to the "on" position everytime I shot it. One of my JC Higgins had a Mark X trigger in it for awhile too. It was a piece of crap as well.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I've been using a Mark-X since 1977, and have been happy with it. I can't comment on the trigger and safety because I had a tang safety Canjar trigger installed as the rifle was being built.

Posts: 2124 | Location: Whittemore, MI, USA | Registered: 07 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of South40
posted Hide Post
Gentry, Dakota and PMS (among others) make 3-position safeties for the Mark X. Installed, the safety will cost about $200. Installation of the 3-position safety on a Mark X usually requires grinding the sear area of the striker. This is not a job for an amateur, and is the reason I had Gentry install the safety.

Were I you, I would use the rifle for a while. If at some point you become unhappy with the function of the safety, then consider a change. Before I switched to the Gentry safety, I tried a Timney trigger w/ safety. As mentioned above, I had to do some grinding on the trigger guard. I wasn't happy with the short throw of the timney safety, plus it had a tendency to go off "safe" if you pulled the trigger several times while the safety was engaged.

Posts: 442 | Location: Way out west | Registered: 28 March 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of bluetick
posted Hide Post
Gentlemen
Since there has been so much interest in this post about the Mark X I thought I would provide this link.
Charles Daly. I'm pretty sure that this is the same as the old Inter Arms Mark X. I know that a few years ago that C D was importing these rifles but had to stop because of the hole Bosnia thing. I think it is straight now.
God Bless
Shawn

Posts: 773 | Location: Louisiana | Registered: 31 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post