New
Find
Notify
Tools

Leupold dual dove tail.
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I just ordered a pair of Leupold dual dovetail mounts for a M70. On the box there is a statement that there are held to as little as 3/10000 of an inch, so far I cant find where that may be. Does anyone have anyrecomendations as to turning the rings into the dovetail, they are so tight I am unable to do it.

[ 01-23-2003, 05:23: Message edited by: smallfry ]

Posts: 2045 | Location: West most midwestern town. | Registered: 13 June 2001Reply With Quote
<JBelk>
posted
I've been using the same ground down hammer handle for 35 years. Make sure the ring is flush to the mount and TURN it. Make sure there's a small dab of grease on both sides of the dovetail to prevent galling. The rings and mounts aren't heat-treated.

<G.Malmborg>
posted
Smallfry,

Get yourself or have someone to turn you a 1" dia steel rod long enough to bridge both rings. The hammer handle works great to install the rings without damage, but you will want to have the steel rod to align both rings with each other so that your scope will sit perfect within the rings without any bind.

To test the alignment, install the 1" rod in the rings like you would a scope and tighten the caps down. Next, slightly loosen the cap screws and see if you can rotate the rod in the rings. At this point you should also be able to slide the rod through the rings. If you can do this without any bind, the rings are pretty well aligned and ready for the scope. Remember, with dual dovetail rings being fixed like they are, if the rings aren't perfectly aligned, then damage to the scope tube is possible.

Malm

one of us
posted Hide Post