Find
Notify
Tools

Slugged Bore of a 1941 K.Kale Turk Mauser
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of RenegadeRN
posted
I recently purchased a 1941 K.Kale Turk Mauser that I am sending, in the next day or two, to one of the gunsmiths here on AR. I wanna see what it wants to become and I picked the K.Kale due to availability, price, and my choice of a low pressure round anyway.

After much research on the K.Kale I learned that two bore diameters were in use with a slightly smaller bore dia used early on and the Turks then standardized to .323 dia. I personallly know Murphy all too well, so I set about learning how to slug the bore using posts here on AR to guide me. Let me state that I have NEVER done this before. The lands and grooves look sharp and crisp in the bore, but what do I know? After following the directions of the posters here on AR...on THREE separate occasions to just be sure...the lead slugs started a bit difficult, but then pushed through the bore without much difficulty. I do want to mention, in case it matters, the slugs dropped out without ANY type of land/groove markings on the slug, at a crisp .313 diameter on all occasions. So now I am worse off than when I started coz I still do not know the bore diameter or bullet to shoot if it decides it wants to come back to me as an 8X57. (I truly hope it doesn't coz I want it to decide to be a 6.5X55.)
Please forgive the long windedness but, I am asking those in the know if this rifle truly has a .323 dia bore and should be safe to shoot the .323 dia bullets if it should decide to come back as an 8X57?

'I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America and to the republic for which it stands, one nation under God, indivisable, with liberty and justice for all.'

Posts: 171 | Location: Eastern North Carolina | Registered: 29 March 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
What was the diameter was your slug before you pushed it through?
Butch