New
Find
Notify
Tools

Hobbyist Rebarreling
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
First off I am saying that I am not a licensed gunsmith or any type of gunsmith for that matter; I consider myself a tinkerer. Also I no longer own a metal lathe and haven't for probably 4 years. The desk that I use to have the lathe mounted is now my reloading bench in the house. I am posting to see if others use this procedure and to discuss pros and cons. I am not a professional and do not profess to be. I am not qualified to pass tools to half of the craftsmen who post here.

I have built a few guns for myself through the years. I am self taught as far as operating my old 1941 vintage 9" Southbend metal lathe. My friend, who is an accomplished gunsmith taught me how to thread barrels.

Here is an overview of my former setup.

Headstock

Tailstock

Faceplate and Dog

Shank

Progress: Here is the relief groove (I am not good with a parting tool), the thread portion turned to major thread diameter, and excess barrel shank turned to bolt body diameter for extra room to work on the threads.

Threads scratched to verify pitch

Threads after .040" advance

Threads "V'd" up. I don't remember if this was final fit or just a view of V'd threads. At this stage I would remove the barrel and Dog as a unit and test fit to the individual action for a very nice custom fit.

My custom crown, essentially a protected 11 degree target crown for a hunting rifle. I don't know if it negated the benefits of the 11 degree crown or not.

Again the intent of this post is to show one way to cut barrel threads. I know the threads aren't perfect, but they are better than some prethreaded barrels that I have gotten from others; that plus they fit a whole lot better and give flexibility over shank profile. This particular barrel was a 280 Ackley Improved so there is a hefty shank on it. For a 257 Roberts or similar, I prefer only 7/8" of shank forward of the relief groove.

PA Bear Hunter, NRA Benefactor