Notify
Tools

Need Opinions on barrel contour
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am considering a #3 SS Shilen for a 7MM-08
Or a #2 SS Shilen for a 260 Remington.
I would have the smith trim at least 1" off the shank for starters and finish it at 23-24"
I want a light sporter barrel weighing no more than 40oz that will group consistently 3 shots around 3/4 and 5 shots in 1" or less.

I have limited experience in custom barrels, I had one Ruger 300WM rebarreled with a #4 Shilen C/M that was awesome.

I just don't want to go that heavy again.

Thanks
Dave

Posts: 556 | Location: S.E. Washington | Registered: 14 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Ropes
posted Hide Post
Not that it answers your question but my next barrel will be a #3. The #1 is way to light IMHO for all but high country hunting.

Posts: 549 | Location: Denial | Registered: 27 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of vapodog
posted Hide Post
for a hunting rifle I always go the #1 or featherweight route.....but they mostly finish at 22".....and you want 24"

The accuracy of a light barrel is roughly the same as a heavy barrel.....it's a matter of personal preference. Don't get too exercised about the lighter barrel being less accurate.....there's nothing to suport that statement....at least where hunting accuracy is concerned.

Posts: 28849 | Location: western Nebraska | Registered: 27 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
A #3 Shilen is heavier than a standard barrel on a Rem 700 & a #2 is somewhat smaller at the muzzle, but due to the style of taper about the same weight as a 700 barrel.

Posts: 869 | Location: N Dakota | Registered: 29 December 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
IMHO there's not a factory taper I like. They all seem excessive around the breech. My smith takes a shihlen #3 and slims it around the breech 'swamp' and then eases the taper so that it appears more gradual.