New
Find
Notify
Tools

POLYGONAL BARRELS???
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am thinking of building a 257 Roberts AI with a polygonal 24 or 25 Inch barrel. What is the general thinking from the "experts".
Lyle

"I would remind you that extremism in the defense of liberty is no vice. I would remind you also that moderation in the pursuit of justice is no virtue."
Barry M Goldwater.

Posts: 968 | Location: YUMA, ARIZONA | Registered: 12 August 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Masterifleman
posted Hide Post
I'm no expert but, PAC-NOR is experimenting with the Army on a .223 polygonal barrel, testing it for accuracy life. I was going to get their .204 barrel in polygonal but, I chickened out and got the standard rifling. You could call PAC-NOR and talk to them about it, they're quite good about answering questions.

"I ask, sir, what is the Militia? It is the whole people. To disarm the people is the best and most effective way to enslave them" - George Mason, co-author of the Second Amendment during the Virginia convention to ratify the Constitution

Posts: 1699 | Location: San Antonio, TX | Registered: 14 April 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have one on my Mcmillian NRA Match rifle, in 308.
I use it for Palma Matches and 1000 yard Any Any.
It is not a true "Palma" rifle, it has a 26 inch bbl and I shoot 185 Berger VLD's in it. It is very accurate and very, very easy to clean.

DOUBLE RIFLE SHOOTERS SOCIETY

Posts: 16134 | Location: Texas | Registered: 06 April 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Riodot
posted Hide Post
anyone got a photo of the shape of a "polygonal" barrel??

Lance

Lance Larson Studio

lancelarsonstudio.com

Posts: 933 | Location: Casa Grande, AZ | Registered: 11 June 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by YUMAN:
I am thinking of building a 257 Roberts AI with a polygonal 24 or 25 Inch barrel. What is the general thinking from the "experts".
Lyle