New
Find
Notify
Tools

Exotic Gunstock Wood
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Currently on vacation on the island of Kaua'i.

Whilst traipsing through the many bazaars and swap meets, I came across a very beautiful wood used in furniture and serving trays.

It is called Koa and is native to the Hawaiian Islands.

Has this been used in gunstocks, and if no, then why not?

Not for your everyday run-of-the-mill rifle, but for something beautiful.
I asked a seller of this wood, and she says it works pretty easily, like walnut.

This piece isn't nearly as pretty as some others I saw in person.

-Spencer

one of us
posted Hide Post
While I have zero experience with "Koa", my first question regarding using it in a gunstock would be strength & durability.

Hard, dense, not brittle, etc.

Do you have any info on that?

one of us
posted Hide Post
Koa is considered an excellent wood for gunstocks, both from the point of density and strength.

The trick is finding a blank thick and long enough, with the right figure.

Garrett

Posts: 987 | Location: Orlando, FL | Registered: 23 June 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have used a couple of these Koa blanks and it seemed to be more like Mrytle wood than walnut. I also didn't have any follow up on this wood to see how stable it remained over the yrs. It has been my experience that mrytle wood tends to warp more and can warp say 3 or 4 yrs latter. I really like the color patterns in the Koa.

Posts: 965 | Location: Texas | Registered: 19 May 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of D Humbarger
posted Hide Post
Great for knife handles. Wink

Doug Humbarger
NRA Life member
Tonkin Gulf Yacht Club 72'73.
Yankee Station

Try to look unimportant. Your enemy might be low on ammo.

Posts: 8350 | Location: Jennings Louisiana, Arkansas by way of Alabama by way of South Carloina by way of County Antrim Irland by way of Lanarkshire Scotland. | Registered: 02 November 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post