New
Find
Notify
Tools

Bell and Carlson for Ruger 77
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm looking at a B&C stock for a Ruger 300 Win mag (gotta replace the butt ugly skeletonised factory synthetic job) They don't make the medalist stock with aluminum bedding block for the Ruger, I've heard mixed reviews about the carbelite model. Any first hand experience with ridgidity, accuracy issues would be greatly appreciated!

Posts: 104 | Location: Alaska | Registered: 24 June 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Toomany Tools
posted Hide Post
Welcome to AR!

I have some experience wtih the B&C Carbelite stocks. I've installed three: first one I did was about 15 years ago on a Ruger 77 MKII, .300 WM; second one about 3 years ago went on a VZ-24 in .375 Whelen; and a third about 2 years ago went on a Wheatherby MKV in .257 WHBY. This first stock I used from them was heavy but well designed and the forearm was rigid, the last two were lighter but the forearms were not as stiff as I want them--with stock mounted on rifle you can move the forearm back and forth against the barrel with very little effort. I suppose if you bed the barrel the full length of the forearm this may not be an issue, but I prefer to free-float barrels. I have not used the model with the bedding block.

I personally would not use one again. If I'm looking for an inexpensive stock I now use the Ramline as I find them to be much stiffer and very easy to install.

John Farner

If you haven't, please join the NRA!

Posts: 2944 | Location: Corrales, NM, USA | Registered: 07 February 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Sounds like I should consider another option. I was hoping to stay in the B&C price range and not make the jump to HS or McMillan. I guess you get what you pay for. I like some of their finish/camo options, they have a bigger selection than most.

One of Us
posted Hide Post