THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUNSMITHING FORUM

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

How much contact are we after when lapping lugs?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Toomany Tools
posted
I know the subject of lapping bolt lugs has been discussed here (I've reviewed all the prior posting I could find using the search engine) but there is one question I haven't found an answer for: How much contact is achievable through lapping?

I'm using 240 grit silicone carbide lapping compound and I've rigged a device using a barrel stub to put constant pressure on the bolt-face as I work the bolt handle. After about an hour's worth of work I've got about 90% contact on the solid lug, but the split lug still only contacts on the leading (right side viewed from rear).

It seems intuitive that we're after 100% contact on all lugs but since I've never done it before I'm not sure as progress has been very slow. Any tips on performing this procedure would be most appreciated.

Posts: 2944 | Location: Corrales, NM, USA | Registered: 07 February 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of ACRecurve
posted Hide Post
TooManyTools,

I think I read somewhere that 80% is acceptable--don't remember where I read it though. Maybe someone who knows for sure will weigh in.

Good Hunting,

Posts: 6711 | Location: Oklahoma, USA | Registered: 14 March 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Toomany Tools

The question I have always had with lug lapping is....to what position are they being lapped?

I have often thought where full lenght sized brass is used, that is where there is some headspace, then the best lapping would be done with the bolt be opened closed in the rifle and with firing pin in place.

Mike

Posts: 7206 | Location: Sydney, Australia | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Nitroman
posted Hide Post
Too many,