THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUNSMITHING FORUM

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

CZ Stock Re-finished and/or Re-Shaped (Pics)
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I would like to re-finish and re-shape my CZ 550 FS 6.5x55 SWEDE...

Are there any members who have done this already with great results?

The wood beneath the CZ finish looks pretty good!

May I see some of your pics so I could get an idea of what's under there and some advice as how one might approach this project...

I am brand new to this and this would be my first attempt at re-finishing a stock...

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated....

I'm a bit nervous with all this ANTICIPATION and I could use everyones wisdom and expertise!

Thank you to all...

Posts: 3430 | Registered: 24 February 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Could anyone help me, I would most certainly appreciate it....

Thanks!

one of us
posted Hide Post
Wow, where to start. God only knows how many words have been written on stock finishing. Lots of good methods out there. I think a lot comes down to what works in your environemtnal conditions and which application methods you like the best.

SOme books that cover it:

"Double Shotguns" Steve Houghes
"Professional Stockmaking" Dave Wesbrook
I think all of the "Gunsmith Kinks" by Brownell's have good descriptions on finishing methods

Or you can buy a Purdey's Worthog Kit.

Do a search here on this forum, as it has been brought up a lot of times.

Long PM sent with some specifics.

Be sure to ask for help when you get stuck and don't know what to do next.

Good luck!

Posts: 2509 | Location: Kisatchie National Forest, LA | Registered: 20 October 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Marc and Bill,

I received your PM's...

Thank you so very much for all your help
and detailed lengthy explanations...

I will be getting back to you folks when I get back from my Hunting Trip in several weeks...

I am blessed...thank you once again,

Roland

One of Us