Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

To blue or not to blue.... somebody plz help
 Login/Join

posted
G'day guys. I'm kinda new to this shooting/hunting scene and i could do with a bit of advice from the more experienced/wiser shooters amongst us.

I've recently purchased a .22 sportco (tube mag) and a stevens side by side 12g. Their both showing their age and I've started sprucing up the stevens a tad. The blueing has all but worn off both of the guns and i was looking to polish and seal ( with a high temp clear coat enamel) the breach and barrels of both guns.

So far i've polished the reciever on the side by side with some wet n dry (120grit 300grit 800grit and 1200grit) and it looks great. Next i was planning on giving the barrels the same treatment but was wondering if someone could tell me if the blueing on the firearms serves any other purpose other than protecting the steel against corrosion.

I've painted the stock with a matt black. The wood was too old and ratty to merely re stain and varnish so i gave it a good sand n a spray. It looks great with the matt stock and polished reciever but the barrels are letting me down. I dont want to stuff a perfectly good gun and was hoping someone could give me some insight into the purpose of blueing.

Thanks guys

Posts: 10 | Location: Adelaide, Australia | Registered: 27 January 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Ricochet
posted Hide Post
The blue finish is mostly decorative. It doesn't provide much protection against corrosion, if any.

Posts: 1325 | Location: Bristol, Tennessee, USA | Registered: 24 December 2003Reply With Quote

Picture of Mark
posted Hide Post
Cruiser,

Welcome to the forums here!