THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUNSMITHING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Gunsmithing    Adjusting a Pre64 Winchester Model 70 Cocking piece, Firing pin, Safety making it wo

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Adjusting a Pre64 Winchester Model 70 Cocking piece, Firing pin, Safety making it wo
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have obtained multiple Pre64 model 70 Winchesters over the years. Some the Safetys worked flawlessly some did not. I have been doing gunsmith work for over 50 years but Pre64 Winchesters were not my expertise. I started studying the relationship of the trigger/cocking piece and safety. I read the Brownells Kinks, the instructions for a pre64 Model 70 Jewell trigger and other articles. I have all three pre 64 Winchester safety types. After dissasembling several I began to understand the parts relationship. The safeties that when the rifle is cocked and want go back from the fired position to the safe position needed to have the cocking piece shortented. The rifles that when cocked where in the safe position and moved to the fire position fired needed to have the cocking piece lengthened. I lengthened the cocking pieces by building them up with 4130 or ER70 TIG wire in a fusion welded then remachined. After a proper relationship was established the cocking piece was rehardened. This was not rocket science but I could not find anyone willing to do the work. Now that I have several under my belt I feel much more confident. It would be helpfull is someone would mass produce replacement firing pins and cocking pieces. The Parts David Tubb sells are not the same as the original Winchester Pre 64 parts. The body size of the cocking piece on David Tubbs is smaller diameter than the Pre64 Model 70 Cocking piece and they don't come with a firing pin lock and the Pre64 model 70 lock will not work on th