New
Find
Notify
Tools

Older m-700 crazed finish?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I recently purchased a used M700 mountain rifle equiped with a B&C stock. Almost as an after thought, the seller gave me the original wood stock. This wood stock has obviously never been used. and it has beautiful figure Not a mark on it and the checkering is pristine. From a distance, the finish looks very good, but close examination reveals many fine small cracks in the gloss finish running across the grain. What to do? I have no experience with these hard gloss finishes.

Posts: 336 | Location: Central PA | Registered: 01 February 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Sand it off and apply new finish.

Mike Ryan - Gunsmith

Posts: 352 | Location: Michigan, USA | Registered: 31 July 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
DON'T SAND IT OFF. By doing so you will likely sand too deep into the wood and expose open pores which in American Walnut may be a bitch to fill. Rather use a furniture stripper such as Homer Formbys. Apply liberally and let it work. The finish will soon bubble up, when it does use a plastic or wooden scrapper to gently scrape the finish off. Any areas of finish that remain can then be spot coated with striper untill they are soft enough to remove. Next remove any residual stripper with a paper towel and denatured alchohol or mineral spirits and let dry. Now, using 400 grit wet or dry paper, lightly sand the stock to a uniform color and apply your finish. I use a poly-urethane named ARM-R-SEAL available from Woodcraft Supply for this. Wipe it on, let it soak in for a couple of minutes, and then wipe any that remains on the surface off. Let dry over-nght and repeat.

Posts: 437 | Location: wisconsin | Registered: 20 June 2013Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Stripper sounds like the solution, but how do I protect that black plastic tip? I am still wondering what caused the original finish to "craze", as the stock is otherwise immaculate?