Find
Notify
Tools

Stock Refinishing and Checkering Question
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of 470Evans
posted
I have several of the LH Zastava bolt rifles and I have always hated their "American" style stock. I decided to reshape the comb and refinish the stock.

This is my first attempt at any stock work like this and while I'm not looking for perfection I want something decent looking.

This am I reshaped the comb and stripped the finish from the stock. The result is a pretty light colored wood.

I want to darken the stock up a bit as well as clean up the checkering. The Zastava website says the wood is "European Walnut but it's very light.

Any recommendation for a refinish product as well as what would be an appropriate tool for the checkering? The checkering resembles flat point checkering currently, note I said resembles.

Any critiques are welcome as well!

The stock in the back is what the altered looked like originally.

Thanks in advance.

Posts: 1311 | Location: Texas | Registered: 29 August 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
Go to Brownells and buy a checkering tool.
And some walnut stain; there are about 20 shades of it. I use Laurel Mountain stains. They make good finish too. I use finish from Brownells called pro custom. Tru oil is good.
European Walnut can be plain like yours.

Posts: 17278 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
From your picture, it appears you will need to do another sanding pass to get all of your swirl marks going with the flow of the pores in this piece of wood. When you have your final sanding passes done you will need to stain at this time. Remember, if you are going to use a sand in pore filling method, staining comes after your pores are filled. I use Pro Custom Oil finish. Have been using it for 20+ years. Good stuff Maynard!

Dennis Earl Smith
Professional Member ACGG
Benefactor Life NRA
Life NAHC