THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUNSMITHING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Gunsmithing    I need help with primer detination problem, please.

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I need help with primer detination problem, please.
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Here is my problem.
I have a Marlin model #"512 Slug Master" in 12 gauge 3" magnum that while at my last range session had three sabot slugs from two different manufacturers fail to go off when I pulled the trigger. This is the first time anything like this has ever happened to any of my firearms, so I have zero experience in trouble shooting for it. Up to now this gun has been 100% reliable and has performed superbly and is a tac driver to boot. Granted the 512 is no M70 or M700, but my 512 shoots 100% as well as my A-Bolt slug gun and serves its perpose of design extreamly IMHO.

Considering this slug gun in well over 14 years old and had had something like 500 to 600 sabot slugs fired out of it, I figured it was simply a case of the fireing pin or some related part simply showing signs of were. I promptly ordered the replacement parts I felt I would need along with a schematic of the 512 Slug Master from the good folks at Numrich Gun Parts.

When I received the parts in the mail I proceded to disasemble the bolt of my 512 and give all the parts a compleat cleaning, although they were surprisingly clean. I also gave the new replacement parts a cleaning as well.