Find
Notify
Tools

Pre-64 M70 Supergrade question
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of M1Tanker
posted
Can someone please explain to me the difference between a standard grade pre-64 and a Supergrade pre-64 M70? On the newer M70's it is some upgraded features like fancier wood and inlet swivel bases. But on the pre-64 rifles the differences are all that apparent to me.

William Berger

True courage is being scared to death but saddling up anyway. - John Wayne

The courageous may not live forever, but the timid do not live at all.

Posts: 3155 | Location: Rigby, ID | Registered: 20 March 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I will try although I am not an expert. From the outset, the actions were all the same. The difference lies in the marking on the barrel and the recoil lug, the barrel was usually stampe "Super" with ( caliber) and date, which was standard on most earlier guns. The stocks had a type of inletted sling swivel arrangement and fancier checkering, a wrap-around pattern of a type, the wood was supposedly a better grade. I think the bolts were usually jewelled

The big things were the bolt, barrel marking (underside) and the stock with checkering and sling swivels.

SDOmeone correct me if I am wrong and don't hesitate to add to this.

Jim

Jim Kobe
10841 Oxborough Ave So
Bloomington MN 55437
Professional member American Custom Gunmakers Guild

Posts: 5523 | Location: Minnesota | Registered: 10 July 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Jim is correct.

The special SG stock furniture included a black plastic forend tip, grip cap of plastic (early) or metal (later), wraparound checkering, cheekpiece of various shapes over the years, and the special SG 2-screw inletted swivel bases and oversize snap swivels.

The standard stocks had no contrasting forend tip, no grip cap, no cheekpiece (later ones had the Monte Carlo comb though), 4-separate-panel checkering and plain non-detachable swivels.
Regards, Joe