Find
Notify
Tools

Mauser ID help please
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Fjold
posted
Someone posted this on another board and I'd like to help him out, if possible. I've already asked him what the bore size is but haven't heard back yet. Anyway, here's his post:

I have no experience with anything other than some U.S. Military arms.
A coworker has a rifle he would like me to help identify. The rifle barrel is not caliber marked. He is mostly interested in this information.

On the left side of the receiver it is stamped Mod 98 toward the barrel is an eagle stamp. Below this stamp is 4406 over ak
On top of the receiver is stamped dot above an eagle (swastika?) and below that 63. Below that the year 1944
On top of the barrel which is stepped narrower towards the muzzle 4 times closest to the receiver is what looks like a shield with the number 13 in the lower portion. to the right of this shield is a large stamped FD
On the right side of the receiver are two more eagles (swastikas)
The top of the bolt handle is stamped 4406 over ak
The bottom of the bolt handle has the eagle over 63 twice. Once tiny and once larger.
4406 is stamped on the bolt collar and safety also.
The bolt release has a copper colored insert in it.
The magazine follower is stamped Lxr
Furthest forward on the trigger housing below the second of two mounting screws is stamped LU. Toward the middle of the housing and inch and a half forward of the hole in the guard is again stamped LU over 4406.
The stock has been replaced with a sporter stock and the rear sight is a Lyman adjustable peep.
Can someone help me with identifying the caliber of this rifle?
Thanks,
BTL

Anyway, it sounds like a wartime production rifle, can anyone tell me what factory, etc that it was made at?

Thanks

Frank

"I don't know what there is about buffalo that frightens me so.....He looks like he hates you personally. He looks like you owe him money."
- Robert Ruark, Horn of the Hunter, 1953