THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM LEVER ACTION RIFLE FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Lever Action Rifles    cast bullet mold for my 45-70 guide gun???
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

cast bullet mold for my 45-70 guide gun???
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
im looking for cast bullet molds for the guide gun. any ideas im kinda new at casting. 300gr or bigger for fun also

Posts: 104 | Location: spokane washington | Registered: 08 November 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I've been using a Lee mold #90374. Depending on your alloy choice,you will get bullets in the 400 gn. range. I size to .459 for my rifle, using RCBS "Green" lube.Powder charge wts. in the mid-40's of IMR 3031 have been an excellent powder for this bullet in my Guide gun with standard large rifle primers. I have a 2.5x Leupold mounted in an XS Sight Systems "Scout Mount" on mine and absolutely LOVE IT.

Posts: 953 | Location: Florida | Registered: 17 March 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Ranch Dog 425G , 6 cavity molds. I have two barrels for my 1895 (18.5" and 22" Octagon). This bullet over a nice load of Reloader #7 is amazingly accurate. And cast in Lyman #2 is will be devastating on deer (at least I hope so! See me after hunting season.....)

Posts: 260 | Location: Dartmouth, Massachusetts, USA | Registered: 30 December 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by yzm19:
im looking for cast bullet molds for the guide gun. any ideas im kinda new at casting. 300gr or bigger for fun also

To do things proper, you should slug your bore first. But I know that most Marlin Guide Guns are a little oversized, so you will find that a .460" diameter bullet will work best. So make sure you get a mold that will drop a minimum of .460" - you can always size the bullet down.

If you decide to use gas checks then bullet size won't be as critical.