THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM LEVER ACTION RIFLE FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Lever Action Rifles    I have bifocals - Can I handle peep sights?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I have bifocals - Can I handle peep sights?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hey all, I'm leaning toward getting a Marlin 1894 in either 44 or 357 in a big way. However, the budget just will not allow a quality scope this year, and I'm done with inexpensive crap and all their frustrating, inevitable problems.

So I'm turning 50 and of course wear bifocals. My far sight with glasses is 20-20. I've never used metal sights before. Will my 50 year old eyes be able to handle peeps? What range is effective for say, a five inch circle? When will fading light become a factor? Dark woods a problem?

I can probably forget head shots on squirrel and rabbits with my down loads, though.

I figure I use a peep sight on my bow, so why not? Then I thought that my range on the rifle will be beyond my practical range of my bow, soooooo...

Maybe someone in my general age group that hunts with peeps can give me the skinny.

Thanks to everyone for the info and advice so far. This seems to be a very nice and helpful forum.

one of us
posted Hide Post
You'll be fine! I have bifocals and don't have any problems.

*We Band of .338 ers*.NRA Member

Posts: 415 | Location: Milwaukee WI USA | Registered: 07 April 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Big Bore Boar Hunter
posted Hide Post
The best thing you can do is to get a piece of black cardboard, poke a 1/8" hole in it, take off your glasses and see if you can see. You will most likely be able to shoot a peep without your glasses! With the glasses, you may have to experiment to see which lens is in line, but you will be focusing on the front sight which means you should probably have your "far" lens on axis.