Find
Notify
Tools

Marlin BigBore vs 336?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Im new to Marlin rifles.

Is there any difference (other than caliber) between the Big Bore serie and the 336 seire of rifles?
I mean, have they the same action?

Thanks
Martin

Double Rifle Shooters Society member from Argentina.
My doubles:
.577 Snider by W.Richards.
.58" ML by Pedersoli

Posts: 358 | Location: Bahia Blanca - Argentina | Registered: 14 March 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Hello,
I believe you will find that the 336 action is the same used on the "big bore" other than some slight modifications made to the ejection port.
30-30 caliber versions of the 336 ejection port is not opened up as much as say the 45/70 caliber. Trigger plate, trigger, lever, safety mechanism, stocks, etc. are of same basic design. Recent versions of Marlin centerfire rifles do have a fluted bolt, stainless steel, laminated stocks, and so on, so there are some differences, but I am not aware of any design changes from the 336 to Big Bore. There is reported from time to time a problem known as the "Marlin jam...," which occurs on older, well used rifles, but I have not experienced it myself. All in all, good firearms for their intended purpose-hunting. My preference for the Marlin Big Bore is the 45/70Gov't caliber, good for about any game out to say 200 yards. The Marlin Cowboy version in 45/70 is my first choice.
Sure others may give you more details, answers that would be of help. Good hunting!!

martin

Posts: 1328 | Location: West Virginia | Registered: 19 January 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thank you very much Martin!

I have read that the first .444 rifles were sold as Model 336 and the they release the Model 444.

Thanks
Martin

Double Rifle Shooters Society member from Argentina.
My doubles:
.577 Snider by W.Richards.
.58" ML by Pedersoli

Posts: 358 | Location: Bahia Blanca - Argentina | Registered: 14 March 2005Reply With Quote
one of us