New
Find
Notify
Tools

marlin coyboy leading
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Ive been shooting lead bullets and casting for 40 years and im stumped on this one. The newer marlin cowboy 45-70 shoots best with rcbs gas checked bullets sized to .459, bhn 25 aprox measured with lbt tester. I use lbt soft blue lube, 29.5 grains of 5744 for 1550 ft per second. this is the best load i can find , but every load i use leads. this load will shoot well out to 300 yards at a 12 inch gong and factory open sights, with bench rest,, Tuesday i hit a 12 inch gong first try at 250 yards with crossticks after 3 previous shots at some rocks on a hillside.... for It depends where the muzzel lead deposits are,if they SEEM to be even it will still shoot well after 5 rounds, but if it tends to lead in an uneven / wrong way it must be cleaned or can spread out groups pretty fast. I have a marlin 45 long colt cowboy that will shoot pure lead bullets 50 rounds with no leading, and it was easy to find that load..

the problems seem to be maybe rough barrel for muzzel leading, and the forard crimp groove and lever feeding mechanism requires too much jump causing breach leading..

there is factory damage to the muzzel about 1 1/2 inches from the front end being tiny divots in a perfect ring looking like a tool got loose or some such, but the leading can somethimes start before that so im baffleled.. I have a lapped c sharps 45 70 heavy 30 inch barrel that has never leaded with ANY load ive put in it..
Leading after 15 rounds causing accuracy problems would be acceptable but after 3-5 rounds has gotten me pretty tired out trying quite a few things to stop leading.. 12 grains of unique gave me no reliefe earlier with softer bullets before i started heat treating wheel weights..
Lets make this an advanced discussion, i order pistol bullets from missouri 1500 at a time, have a dillon 650, and have been reloading for about 50 years.. lead bullets for 40 aprox as i have mentioned..