THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM LEVER ACTION RIFLE FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Lever Action Rifles    Round in the chamber of an 1886?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Round in the chamber of an 1886?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
When hunting with a bolt action, I seldom have a round in the chamber until needed. A round can very quietly be put in the chamber.

However, my 1886 seems to be noisy when levering a round into the chamber .... I assume that's true for all varieties of lever guns by the nature of their actions.

Can I assume that a sound 1886 with a round chambered and on half-cock is "safe"? Opinions, please.

Posts: 34 | Location: Two Rivers Alaska | Registered: 30 August 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of buckeyeshooter
posted Hide Post
I have been hunting with lever actions for 45 years. I carry mine with a round in the chamber and on 1/2 cock. They are too noisy to cycle as you shoulder the rifle if you want the game unaware.
In one of Jeff Coopers books, he advocated an empty chamber and levering as the gun came to the shoulder. So, it is not an unherd of practice to me, just not practical.
I do open the lever and eject the chambered round to crawl under a fence or climb over a fence or cross water-- then close the action and put the round back in the tube.

Posts: 5713 | Location: Ohio | Registered: 02 April 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Slowpoke Slim
posted Hide Post
Oh my, here we go again...

sofa

I've only hunted with my 1886 a couple of times. Each time I've carried mine with a round in the chamber while out hunting. Mine is the "new" version, made by Miroku, so it has the rebounding hammer and tang safety. As such it doesn't have a half-cock position.

To answer your question about the half-cock carry, that is what John Browning had in mind when he designed it. To be able to carry it with a round in the chamber.