New
Find
Notify
Tools

Henry 45 Colt
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Good Afternoon Men, Looking real hard at a little Henry big boy in 45 Colt, will the brass receiver take a little hotroddin? I cant find out if they're made the same as the Henry 44 mag. Wanna shoot 300 sp @ 1300-1400 fps from the 20" brl...Thanks in advance.

One of Us
Picture of michael458
posted Hide Post
Jerry

I have no experience at all with the Henry rifles, so I can't tell you how strong they may be. I would think there would be no difference in manufacturing of the 45 Colt vs the 44 mag, I am sure the receiver is the same. So whatever one could do in the 44 I would think you could do the same in the 45 Colt.

Now I can tell you what you can do in a Win M94 in 45 Colt--Others that know more can tell us how this would compare to the Henry rifle?

In the Win M94 a 300 gr (say Hornady JHP) with a dose of 2400 can run to over 1600 fps with ease in 16 inches of barrel! 1300-1400 fps is on the light side. I have even run the 335 gr Cast Performance over 1600 fps with no ill effects.

But before doing this in the Henry get some expert opinions concerning it. I am sure there are some out here with the Henry rifles.

Michael

http://www.b-mriflesandcartridges.com/default.html

The New Word is "Non-Conventional", add "Conventional" to the Endangered Species List!
Live Outside The Box of "Conventional Wisdom"

I do Not Own Any Part of Any Bullet Company, I am not in the Employ Of Any Bullet Company. I do not represent, own stock, nor do I receive any proceeds, or monies from ANY BULLET COMPANY. I am not in the bullet business, and have no Bullets to sell to you, nor anyone else.

Posts: 8426 | Location: South Carolina | Registered: 23 June 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of El Deguello
posted Hide Post