THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM ALASKA HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Alaska Hunting Forum    Brown Bear hunting report W/ Phil Shoemaker

Moderators: Paul H
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Brown Bear hunting report W/ Phil Shoemaker
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Abob
posted
Many of us know Phil Shoemaker as 458Win on AR and a thought provoking author for Rifle Magazine. Now I know Phil, his wife Rocky Harrison & crew at Grizzly Skins as first class guides, awesome hosts, and great all-around Americans! I had the privilege of accompany my cousin on a spring bear hunt with Grizzly Skins. This was my first guided hunt so I’m no expert, but I can’t imagine any outfit doing a better job.

No, my cousin didn’t get his bear, but he was the only hunter out of five who did not get a “trophy” class bear. My cousin came looking for a 9.5 foot or better bear and Mother Nature just didn’t cooperate (State Troopers told us it was slow/late on the entire peninsula this year). I can say unequivocally, it was not Grizzly Skin’s fault. Besides the rotten weather, my cousin is 70 and was not up to any long stalks. When our spotting hill, which usually sees a lot of action, turned out to be an especially late producer, Phil offered to move us. Phil knows his hunting area. Phil & Rocky built a home and raised a family in their hunting area on the Kejulik River. They still live in it for much of the year; they know this area like you know your backyard.

Having gotten his client a very mature 10 footer with a 28” skull during the first week, one of Phil’s guides volunteered to join us to help spot. You often hear of 2 clients per 1 guide; how often do you hear of 2 guides per 1 hunter -- for over a week!