New
Find
Notify
Tools

how fast to cruise in a skiff?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am going to hunt black bear in SE AK in mid May and will predominantly be hunting from a skiff. I have never done this before and wonder how fast those of you who have done this would recommend we travel (while attempting to locate bears along the shore). Just trying to get an idea of how many shoreline miles we could cover in a given amount of time. Thanks, Rufous.

Posts: 224 | Location: Walla Walla, WA 99362 | Registered: 05 December 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of CK
posted Hide Post
How fast? Well, not so fast that you run up on the rocks next to shoreline because your paying attention to the shore. My suggestion is glass and cruise. Turn the outboard off and look and listen. Also, you can't shoot from your skiff either. You have to go ashore and then shoot.

Posts: 653 | Location: Juneau, Alaska | Registered: 09 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
There are so many variables. As said above you don't want to hit a rock or flip over a wave.

To be perfect one would have charts aboard and know thier position. A GPS would make so much sense. Then you can find your way back.

The water is extremely dangerous. If you fall in you will die.

So the boat may plane and then you may go 12 knots. The waves may be too big and you may only make 5. It may be so rough, windy and foggy that you should not use the boat. I can't say.

I hope its nice and sunny, warm and calm. Keep in mind that I does not always stay that way.

The problem with big trips like that is that when you get to the boat at dawn it seems like you have to go no matter what. Don't get in the boat if it's not safe.

To add: There are "skiffs" and then there are "SKIFFS". I don't know if it's a 10' john boat or a 23' Sea Ox with twin engines?