New
Find
Notify
Tools

10 ga slug on big bear
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I understand discussions can get pretty messy on shotguns for defence on larger bear types.

But how about all the way to the 10ga federal 763 grain slug. Would it keep you alive, one in each barrel or a few in a big pump action?

Karl.

Posts: 3533 | Location: various | Registered: 03 June 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Karl:
I understand discussions can get pretty messy on shotguns for defence on larger bear types.

But how about all the way to the 10ga federal 763 grain slug. Would it keep you alive, one in each barrel or a few in a big pump action?

Karl.

YUP!!!!!

Posts: 2357 | Location: KENAI, ALASKA | Registered: 10 November 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of buckeyeshooter
posted Hide Post
I have been using the Federal 10 guage slugs for over 20 years here in Ohio as we are a shotgun/slug only state. Having killed over 50 whitetails with this round I must say that I would NEVER use it on Brown or Grizzly Bear-- you would get et! The slug is of the old Foster design and expands to 1 1/2 inches in the chest cavity of a whitetail. I am not talking about it flattening on the shoulder. I am talking about a shot through the rib cage. Penetration is good because of the mass of the slug however the design is not one for use on big bear. I have used it on wild boar and black bear and it works acceptable. But you really need someone to step up and make a modern slug for the 10 if you want to use it on big bear. By the way-- I would suggest the Remington SP-10 as a better arm that the double. The gas system makes for less recoil and it holds 3 instead of two. I do have an Elbar double in 10 ga. -- I sawed it off at 20" and use it for Cowboy Action Shooting and home defense.

Posts: 5707 | Location: Ohio | Registered: 02 April 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post