New
Find
Notify
Tools

Alaska drawing permit strategies
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hi guys. I am an Alaskan resident and have put in intermittantly for drawing permits over the years (since about 1991) without success. According to ADF&G this is a totally random drawing (no bonus points like in some other states). I am interested in putting in for Kodiak brown bear permit. I looked on ADF&G's website and there are harvest reports which specify how many permits, how many hunters,and what success for each drawing hunt. There are also figures for drawing success, that is how many applicants and how many permits which yields a percentage (sometimes miniscule i.e. hundreds of applicants for 3 or so permits). Anyway I've looked at some Kodiak Brown Bear hunts with >25% hunting success and matched them with hunts with >10% drawing success. Am I better to go with hunts with high permit numbers or high success rate? Am I on the right track to narrow this down, or on a wild goose chase? Any feedback appreciated. Thanks, Paul.

Posts: 46 | Location: Alaska | Registered: 05 February 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
It took me 9 years to draw a Kodiak permit (Sturgeon River spring 1984) then had a long, dry spell til I got several permits for a few years running, now nothing for two years. The only 'strategy' used by a friend that seems to get drawn more than most is to apply on the last day. Good luck!

Posts: 179 | Location: South of Anchorage | Registered: 21 January 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
No strategy. Just apply and hope for the best!

Posts: 384 | Location: Tok, Alaska | Registered: 26 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post