Find
Notify
Tools

T-Minus...31 days. Goat...
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of rnovi
posted
In 31 days...on a Friday...Sept. 13th to be exact I depart to Valdez for a boat based goat hunt.

I have no idea why "goat" needed to be on the menu. It just...was. They aren't very pretty...and from all reports they are a bit of a bitch to hunt. They like high and lofty places and the weather is bound to suck. For that matter I haven't even read many reports of hunters raving about the meat...damned if I'm not going to try it with leeks and gravy...

I started training for this about 4 months ago...and picked up the pace steadily. With a month to go I've lost 8# and a 70# pack humped 4 miles 4x a week up 700 feet of gain merely causes me to sweat. I've started adding deep leg lunges up and down hill (4x sets of 20 for now...with pack on. I'll push that to sets of 60 by the 13th...). I do need the walking sticks to stabilize myself on the lunges. I shouldn't be surprised.

I'm actually disappointed I haven't dropped more weight but I'll take an expected 175# (down from 188) as fair.

Truth is, I'm not expecting to carry more than 25-30# up the mountain - all of which means I should be well prepped physically. I went dirt-biking at 10,000 feet last week. I'm happy to say I wasn't winded in spite of picking my 300# bike up several times at altitude. The two guys I was riding with were literally doubled over for long minutes at a time gasping for air. I'll call that a victory...

The rifle's dialed in. Rem M7 AWR 7mm SAUM driving a 140 AB at 3,040. Good enough for sub 2" groups at 200 yards. I topped it with a 6x42 Loop with the LR duplex. Sighted at 200 the hashes are +/- 2" at 400 and 500... I've probably put 200 rounds downrange in practice, 60% of those are from field positions (mostly prone) at 300-500 steel. No paper ranges to print a 300 yard group where I'm at locally...sucks.

The rifle tips in a hair under 7#, scoped and empty.