THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM ALASKA HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Alaska Hunting Forum    Successful Brown Bear Hunt - Unit 9B, May 2012 w/ AKShooter

Moderators: Paul H
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Successful Brown Bear Hunt - Unit 9B, May 2012 w/ AKShooter
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of 577NitroExpress
posted
Forum Folks:

I returned from a hunt I have been dreaming about for 20+ years: A Brown Bear hunt in Alaska.

I week ago I lived out a dream, and I have only AKShooter to thank for making it awesome.

I preface my report with a few things. First, I have anew wife, after loosing my former wife from cancer. I have two step daughters, one son with my late wife, and a new seven month old with my new wife. I have two new businesses, both in the restaurant industry. Live, as you would say, is hectic. However, I came across a post from AKShooter offering Brown Bear hunts for a damn fine price. I contacted him, learned, specifics, contacted his references and, after talking with my wife, decided to live out ONE of my hunting dreams. Liana, thank you for supporting me; thank you for taking the burden of life, businesses, and children in my absence! You friggin' rock.

Well, after three short months of planning, my hunt was facing me. Here is what I pts.lanned:

Ten day hunt with AKShooter in Unit 17 on the AK Pen.
Rifle: Win Model 70 "Super Express" in .375 H&H Mag with open sights and a Swarovsky 3 - 10 scope: Open iron sights.
Loads: 300 Grains Barnes TSX bullets.

With demands with the businesses being what they were, I didn't have time to practice as much as I wanted. I knew my .375 drove tacts, but after sighting it in, I knew it was 2" high at 100 yards, and 4" low at 200 yards. Beyond that I would have to adjust.