Find
Notify
Tools

Pepper Spray for Bears
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of GSSP
posted
Just read this! Tom Smith, the BYU professor who initiated the research, was doing his graduate work at BYU when I was an undergrad. I talk to him occasionally. Very knowledgable guy when it comes to bears.

http://byunews.byu.edu/archive08-Mar-bearspray.aspx

Posts: 1719 | Location: Utah | Registered: 01 June 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I will stick with my guns. I sprayed a small blackie of ft richardson once up here and he did backtrack about 5-10ft, but stopped and came back towards us.

He didnt leave us alone til late that night. I shoulda shoved a handgranade up his tail pipe (we had 5 cases of granades) but I figured range control might say something.

The bear was extremely thin so I dont if his want of groceries was overriding his brain or if he was accustomed to the soldiers. dont know, but the spray didnt impress me any. our unit stopped using it after that and started carrying rem 870's.

A lesson in irony

The Food Stamp Program, administered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, is proud to be distributing this year the greatest amount of free Meals and Food Stamps ever, to 46 million people.

Meanwhile, the National Park Service, administered by the U.S. Department of the Interior, asks us... "Please Do Not Feed the Animals." Their stated reason for the policy is because "The animals will grow dependent on handouts and will not learn to take care of themselves."

Thus ends today's lesson in irony.

Posts: 1626 | Location: Michigan but dreaming of my home in AK | Registered: 01 March 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
For a good sized bear, pepper spray adds some "zest" to their meals!

Posts: 3785 | Location: B.C. Canada | Registered: 08 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of GSSP
posted Hide Post
Joel,