Find
Notify
Tools

Alaska questions?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of D99
posted
Well I am about to leave for Maine my 2nd to last installment in this 20 year Navy career. If I was up for shore duty I would be the Recruiter in Charge in Fairbanks, but since the Navy wants me to go to sea duty (we have to do a 50/50 split) I am off to Maine until 2011 then back to Alaska for the rest of my life.

I have been an Alaska resident since 1999 when I moved up to join the North Slope Borough Police Department. I decided that I might as well finish my Naval service then return with that retirement pension coming in so that has been the plan.

My question, sorry for all the intro BS is if you could live anyplace in Alaska where would you live and why? I am going to be a teacher after I get certified, I am about 50% done with a BA and I have enough time to finish it and probably get a masters.

So the plan is to teach, and if I decide I don't like that I should have enough education and experience to do a lot else.

I liked Sitka, Barrow didn't bother me if you were only living there 9 months a year, Kodiak would work, I was thinking about Dillingham, Tok, and Valdez.

I guess the ideal situation is to live someplace you would want to be year round. But it really doesn't matter.

Hunting wise Kaktovik, Anakutuvik Pass, Nome, Tok, Dillingham, and Sitka would be good. With places like Kaktovik and Bethel giving the most variety.

I doubt many folks in Alaska hunt every major species every year.

Well, what do you think?

Posts: 4729 | Location: Australia | Registered: 06 February 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of MuskegMan
posted Hide Post
I'd go for Valdez. I've got a buddy who moved there from Sitka. Great fishing, good hunting and road access to the rest of Alaska (well, except S.E.)

<<MM>>

Posts: 2097 | Location: S.E. Alaska | Registered: 18 December 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post