Find
Notify
Tools

30/06 for bears
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Tanoose
posted
A buddy of mine says he has family up in Alaska and wanted to go up next year with his ruger m77 30/06 to hunt brown bears and moose. He asked me if i thought the 30/06 was enough gun.I told him that i have no experience with the big bears but my opinion was that the 30/06 would be fine. i myself shoot a remington 700 using 220 grain roun nose at 2500 fps for deer and black bears and i thought this load would be good ,but maybe with a nosler partition or swift a frame.i told him i would ask on the forum from you guys who use the 30/06 up there.Is the 220 grain bullet a good choice or would he be better off with a premium 180 grain at higher velocities.What weight bullet and what velocities should he be using for his trip.

Posts: 869 | Location: Bellerose,NY USA | Registered: 27 July 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
To quote one of the most experienced bear guides on this site:

"Anyone who claims the 30-06 is ineffective has either not tried one, or is unwittingly commenting on their own marksmanship
Phil Shoemaker www.grizzlyskinsofalaska.com"

Hard times create strong men. Strong men create good times.

Good times create weak men. And, weak men create hard times.

Posts: 697 | Location: Dublin, Georgia | Registered: 19 November 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Scott King
posted Hide Post
I think the -06 is fine and I used one to kill the largest moose I've ever taken.

For several years now I've exclusively used the Barnes TSX and see no reason to change. If I were hunting bears around here with my -06 I'd bring the 180g TSX.

Posts: 9215 | Location: Dillingham Alaska | Registered: 10 April 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Tanoose