New
Find
Notify
Tools

1911 Question
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I see I can buy a Springfield Loaded Model 1911 with an ambi safety. Is the mag release reversible like the one on my Beretta Model 84?

Posts: 1230 | Location: Saugerties, New York | Registered: 12 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Fjold
posted Hide Post
No, The magazine cutout for the release wouldn't work either.

Frank

"I don't know what there is about buffalo that frightens me so.....He looks like he hates you personally. He looks like you owe him money."
- Robert Ruark, Horn of the Hunter, 1953

NRA Life, SAF Life, CRPA Life, DRSS lite

Posts: 12700 | Location: Kentucky, USA | Registered: 30 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Greg

I am right handed, and I have been shooting a 1911 since 1966.

Once upon a time @ the mid 1980's, I managed to injure my right hand to the extent that I could not shoot a handgun in it with out bad pain.

At the time I was shooting in indoor night IPSC Matches twice a week...

I did have a 1911 with an Ambi safety.

So, I borrowed a left hand holster from a left hand buddy.

The only problem I had was dropping the magazine with my left hand trigger finger. The magazine release spring was just too strong...

So I got a spare spring, and cut it down 1/2 coil at a time, until I could easily press the release button, droping the magazine.

This did not effect reliability in any way.
I never had a magazine drop free when I did not want it to.
When reloading after a slide lock back it was easy to press the slide release button with my left hand trigger finger.

If it is too hard to do that on your 1911, then just use the "Glock technique", and after inserting the magazine with your right hand, use it to pull back on the slide and release it.

I shot left handed for several months.

DOUBLE RIFLE SHOOTERS SOCIETY

Posts: 16134 | Location: Texas | Registered: 06 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post