Find
Notify
Tools

Takin (Budorcas taxicolor)
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of 333_OKH
posted
You learn something everyday. I am a wildlife biologist and love species from other countries, but I have never heard of this animal until today while looking into species in the order Artiodactyla.

This is what Wikipedia says about the creature

quote:
The Takin (Budorcas taxicolor) is a goat-antelope found in heavily forested areas of the Eastern Himalayas. There are four subspecies: B. taxicolor taxicolor, the Mishmi Takin; B. taxicolor bedfordi, the Shensi or Golden Takin; B. taxicolor tibetana, the Tibetan or Sichuan Takin; and B. taxicolor whitei, the Bhutan Takin. The takin is the national animal of Bhutan.

Takin stand 110 to 120 centimetres at the shoulder and weigh up to 1000+ kilograms. Takin have large muzzles and eyes with noticeably small ears - giving a vaguely cartoonish appearance. They are covered in a thick golden wool which turns black on the under-belly. Both sexes have small horns which run parallel to the skull and then turn upwards in a short point, these are around 30 centimetres long.

Takin are found in bamboo forests at altitudes of 2,000 to 4,500 metres - where they eat grass, buds and leaves. Takin are diurnal, active in the day, resting in the heat on particularly sunny days. Takin gather in small herds in winter and herds of up to a hundred individuals in the summer, old males are solitary.

Some theorise that the Takin may be the source of the Golden Fleece in Greek mythology.

Has this species been legally sport hunted?

Posts: 3284 | Location: Mountains of Northern California | Registered: 22 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Burt Kleinburg has shot some, its in his book!

Posts: 2536 | Location: New York, USA | Registered: 13 March 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of 333_OKH
posted Hide Post

Posts: 3284 | Location: Mountains of Northern California | Registered: 22 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us