THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM AFRICAN TRAVEL FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Travel Forum    Travelling THROUGH the US with Firearms

Moderators: Saeed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Travelling THROUGH the US with Firearms
 Login/Join

posted
Hi all,

A question for all those who have been there and done this. I am a canadian resident by the way.

I am planning a plainsgame hunt in Nambia with my wife for this coming August. The thought of flying from Calgary-Frankfurt-Joburg-Windhoek does not appeal to her in the least. I've done that route twice before on my past two safaris in Zimbabwe, so to be honest I despise it as well.

What I am looking at is flying out of Toronto, then either through Washington or New York (JFK) to Johannasburg, then on to Windhoek, Namibia. I have contacted the ATF and have been told that there is no forms or permits required as I am not actually entering the USA, I would be in "transit" through the US on my way to Africa.

Have any of you done this route and what paperwork/forms did you need once you hit Joburg and Windhoek. Also,, for those who have done this, the flight from Toronto to either Washington or New York (JFK) is an American Airlines flight which connects to a SAA ( South African Airways ) flight to Joburg, will I have to pick my guns up in Washington or JFK and get them to SAA or will I be able to check them right through?

Thanks,

Tim

Zimbabwe 1995
Nunavut 2001
Zimbabwe 2005
Alaska 2008
Alaska 2009
Namibia 2012

Posts: 18 | Location: Alberta | Registered: 28 November 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of larrys01
posted Hide Post
You will have more paperwork for Jo-berg than you will in the states. I would take DC over New York, but if it was me I would fly Delta out of Atlanta and get the econmy upgrade.
I would also use Steve @ Travel with Guns.
Just my .02 cents worth.