New
Find
Notify
Tools

Meds thru dubai
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am traveling thru Dubai on the way to zambia this july. We lay over one day on way in and a couple days on the way home. I have read horror stories of folks getting arrested for prescription drugs.
I take daily injections of testosterone. I also travel with dilaudid, for kidney stones. As well as excedrin for headaches and as of two weeks ago crestor amd lopressor. Any idea of how to find out exactly what I can take.

Posts: 718 | Location: va | Registered: 30 January 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of DLS
posted Hide Post
Brent, I’m far from an expert but when I traveled to Zambia via Dubai last fall, the advice I was given was to make sure any prescription meds were in current, original prescription bottles with my name on them. You’re taking quite a bit more prescription meds so perhaps a letter from your doctor on letterhead, explaining your medical condition would be helpful? Just a thought.

I was never checked anywhere, Dubai, Lusaka or San Francisco. By the way, simple Benadryl is not allowed in Zambia. Might want to keep that in mind.

Posts: 3860 | Location: California | Registered: 01 January 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of cal pappas
posted Hide Post
Don't fret about it.
I travel with insulin, and several pills, needles, etc. Never a problem but some inspections do look at the meds. My name is on all bottles/boxes/cotnainers so it's all legit.
Have your travel agent notify the airines.

The only problems I've heard of (never seen) is folks who travel 1) with other's meds, 2) thier meds don't have their name on the container, or 3) buy lots of meds in (say) South Africa to save money and have a large quantity with out a name on it (testosterone can be bought over the coutner in SA or Zim).

As a last thought, your doc can write a short note on his letterhead stating the medications you are on.

Good luck. I don't foresee any issues.
Cal

Cal Pappas, Willow, Alaska