New
Find
Notify
Tools

My new project...
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted

This is a pattern stock for my CZ 17HMR sporter. I used a take off CZ Varmint stock to make the pattern. I will soon send it and the blank to Charlie Grace for machine carving.

All work shown is by hand.

Dick Wright

Posts: 669 | Location: Michigan | Registered: 27 March 2014Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post

This is the pic I meant to post first. (This is my first try at this.)

Note lots of Bondo build-up to get the lines the way I wanted.

I found an old Neidner butt plate in my "stuff" from years ago when I made a few stocks.

Plan to finish this as soon as I get it back from Charlie.

Dick Wright

One of Us
Picture of Evan K.
posted Hide Post
From that view the blank looks pretty nice! Where is that bottom metal from?

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy."

Posts: 775 | Location: Minnesota | Registered: 05 September 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Love the Schnabel. I think I need to finish the one I am working on that way.

Larry

"Peace is that brief glorious moment in history, when everybody stands around reloading" -- Thomas Jefferson

Posts: 3942 | Location: Kansas USA | Registered: 04 February 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The bottom metal came from DIP... Diversified Innovative Products. They make a few other speciality items for CZ.

www.diproducts.com

Dick Wright

one of us
Picture of ForrestB
posted Hide Post
Unless you want to hang some HVAC parts on your CZ, you'll probably want to take a look here...

http://www.diproductsinc.com/

Smiler

Very nice looking work Dick. It's difficult to get a schnable right.

Posts: 5052 | Location: Muletown | Registered: 07 September 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post

One side of the blank.

Dick Wright

One of Us
posted Hide Post

The other side of the blank. Note the sap wood is only in one corner. The small stock should miss it completely.