Find
Notify
Tools

Lee Speed "Type" 303 BR.
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of JohnWKiely
posted
For many years now I have had this dream about having a "Lee Speed type" custom rifle made. Don't know why, I just wanted one.

Anyway I managed to get hold of an action and sent it off to have the works done. 26" Lothar barrel, good wood in the stock, tang safety built, express sights, 5 shot magazine, trigger worked, buffalo horn forend tip and grip cap, Silvers recoil pad etc. A Lee Speed look alike if you will.

I have worked up a load using 215 gn Woodleigh projectiles and have chronographed them at 2200 fps with good accuracy. Target at 50 metres

A few photos.

Posts: 75 | Location: Victoria, Australia | Registered: 29 March 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
That is a VERY nice looking rifle. So what is the history behind it? As an amateur I see a SMLE with some sort of action cover?

Posts: 714 | Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin | Registered: 09 October 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of JohnWKiely
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by gzig5:
That is a VERY nice looking rifle. So what is the history behind it? As an amateur I see a SMLE with some sort of action cover?

The action is a 1902 MLE or Long Tom action, the predecessor to the SMLE. Original Lee Speeds were a commercial rifle built on this action. In some circles there is a big following of Lee Speed rifles.

Posts: 75 | Location: Victoria, Australia | Registered: 29 March 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of lee440
posted Hide Post
Ihave never seen a Lee Speed that was anywhere near as gorgeous as this. truly a work of art. Tell us who did the work! I have a nicely engraved Army&Navy LeeSpeed, that is as nice as I have seen, but yours is outstanding. thanks for showing us!

DRSS(We Band of Bubba's Div.)
N.R.A (Life)
T.S.R.A (Life)
D.S.C.

Posts: 2268 | Location: Texas | Registered: 18 May 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of bwanamrm
posted Hide Post
Ultra cool rifle!